The East Finland Graduate School in Computer Science and Engineering (ECSE) was established in 1992 by the three universities located in Eastern Finland: University of Joensuu (JoY), University of Kuopio (KuY), and Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT).

University of Joensuu and University of Kuopio merged into University of Eastern Finland (UEF) in 2010 and starting from 2013 ECSE was a Doctoral Programme of UEF Doctoral School and operated in close collaboration with Department of Information Technology from Lappeenranta University of Technology (LUT).

In 2015 ECSE merged bureaucratically to the Doctoral Programme in Science, Technology and Computing (SCITECO).